Linn-Benton RHA

Linn-Benton Rental Housing Association is a membership based, non-profit organization of landlords. Our members own or manage properties in Albany, Corvallis, Lebanon, Sweet Home, Philomath and other communities in the Central Willamette Valley.

We are a local organization dedicated to helping our members from the private rental owners to the larger property management companies; through our educational meetings, seminars, and newsletters. Our members can share problems, solutions, and ideas with other landlords to ultimately help all of us become better and more profitable landlords.

We are a member of the Oregon Rental Housing Association (ORHA) which allows our membership to be part of a much larger and more powerful lobbying group dedicated to passing fair and balanced Landlord/Tenant Laws and legislation.

We invite you to check out our website, look at the benefits LBRHA offers rental owners, and see how we can help you prosper to the fullest from your rental investments.

Why Should You Join?

  • Educational and Informative Monthly Newsletters
  • Training Programs to Help You Manage Your Properties 
  • Continuing Education Credits for Real Estate Professionals
  • Members Discounts on Classes and Materials
  • Network - Learn from Others and Share Experiences
  • Keep Current on the Changes to the Oregon Landlord/Tenant Laws
  • Legislative Clout in Numbers

Need a Rental Form Right Now?

Have you ever needed a form quickly and the LBRHA office was closed? Oregon Rental Housing Forms are just a click away!

Simply fill in the ORHA form you need and print it out. In a matter of minutes, you'll be on your way!

ORHA Forms

URGENT NEWS & LINKS:

House Bill 4401, a new housing law, has passed through Oregon Legislation

Penalties for mistakes made can be expensive, we recommend you consult an attorney before you take any action against your resident(s).

HB 4401 requires Housing Providers to send the Notice of Eviction Protection and the Tenant Declaration form under certain circumstances. During the new Grace Period, if a Housing provider serves a 72 or 144-hour notice for non-payment (remember these are now 10 or 13-day notices through the end of June) for current rents due, serves any notice for termination for non-payment of rent or other charges, or sends a statement of account indicating that the resident has through March 31, 2021 to pay amounts owing that accrued during the Emergency Period that ended December 31, 2020, these forms MUST be included.

If the resident provides the declaration, they are entitled to withhold payment and are not considered in default unless they fail to pay the balance by June 30, 2021.

Housing Providers are not required to send the Notice of Eviction Protection and the Tenant Declaration if they intend to allow their residents the full Grace Period through June 30, 2021.

You can see the final version of the bill here:

House Bill 4401 (Dec 2020)

To read more about the House Bill 4401 (Moratorium 3.0) defined by Brian Cox Attorney, read his news article:

House Bill 4401 ~ Moratorium 3.0 Explained 

Requires Housing Providers to provide impacted Residents with written notice informing them of their right to submit a declaration of financial hardship made under penalty of perjury in a form proscribed in HB 4401.  Sample Form:

Notice of Eviction Protection & Declaration of Financial Hardship

Housing Providers may find updated information on the Oregon Housing and Community Services landlord compensation fund by visiting:

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/housingassistance/Pages/Landlord-tenant-resources.aspx

Oregon  law sets the permissible rent increase at 7% plus the western region CPI

Oregon’s Office of Economic Analysis has decreased the permissible rent increase for 2021. State law sets the permissible rent increase at 7% plus the western region CPI. CPI went down from 2.9% to 2.2 %. This makes the allowable statewide rent increase cap 9.2% for 2021.

 SALEM, Ore. - The Oregon Department of Administrative Services announces the annual maximum rent increase allowed by statute for calendar year 2021, under the terms of a new state law. The DAS Office of Economic Analysis has calculated the maximum percentage as 9.2.%.

Following the passage of Senate Bill 608 in the 2019 legislative session, Oregon law requires DAS to calculate and post to its website, by Sept. 30 of each year, the maximum annual rent increase percentage allowed by statute for the following calendar year.

Per statute, OEA calculates this amount as 7% plus the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, West Region (All Items), as most recently published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

The allowable rent increase percentage for the 2021 calendar year is 9.2%. DAS will calculate and post the percentage for the 2021 calendar year by Sept. 30, 2020.

Not a member?

The  Oregon Rental Housing Association 2020 Law Book is in

ORHA Landlord/Tenant Law Book Updated to include the most recent changes to Oregon's Landlord/Tenant law.

Order yours now  

Members must sign in to get the Member Discount



ORHA KEY PAC

During the State of Oregon legislative session, ORHA KEY PAC will support affordable housing initiatives including building and a tax credit tenant assistance program.  ORHA KEY PAC will fight rent control, the elimination of 30-day no-cause terminations, and tenant relocation assistance paid for by landlords.

Contribute to the Oregon Rental Housing Key Pac and you may qualify for a Tax Credit.

DONATE HERE

©2014 Linn-Benton Rental Housing Association - all rights reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software